All You Need To Know About ICC World Cup 2023

The ICC World Cup 2023 is quickly approaching, and it is time to get excited. The ICC World Cup 2023 is hosted by India and it will be a huge event. The greatest cricket teams in the world gather every four years to play for the World Cup. Every time this event rolls around, people start counting the days until they can see their favorite players go head-to-head. India will play host to a World Cup competition for the sixth time in 23 years.

Each team will bat for 50 overs (with 10 wickets in play) in the world cup, and once their inning is over, they will have to wait until all 10 wickets have fallen before they can bat again.

There will be ten squads competing for the prize. Eight of the best cricket teams in the world will be invited directly, with the final two berths being decided through a qualification competition. This would guarantee entry to the competition for every test-playing nation. This nation took home the trophy for the first time after hosting the tournament in 2011.

Check out everything about the ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule and Venues.

ICC World Cup 2023: History

Every four years, the International Cricket Council (ICC) hosts the Men’s Cricket World Cup, a 50-over event for international men’s cricket teams. In this tournament, each team plays the other team once, and the top four teams from the group stage advance to the semi-finals.

England played host to the inaugural ICC World Cup in 1975. After sharing hosting duties with Sri Lanka in 1987, 1996, and 2011, this will be India’s first time holding the event alone. Having defeated New Zealand in a thrilling final at Lord’s in 2019, England will compete as the reigning champions.


There will be 14 stadiums across India that will host the world’s most entertaining cricket tournament in 2023. Before the tournament begins, the ICC will choose the venues. There are a number of cities that could host the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

2Eden GardensKolkata
3Feroz Shah KotlaDelhi
4M ChinnaswamyBangalore
5MA ChidambaramChennai
6Sardar Patel StadiumAhmedabad
7PCA stadiumMohali
8Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium   Hyderabad
9VCA StadiumNagpur
10MCA StadiumPune
11Green Park StadiumKanpur
12SCA StadiumRajkot
13Gandhi StadiumGuwahati (Assam)
  1. India
  2. England
  3. New Zealand’s
  4. Australia
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Pakistan
  7. Afghanistan

The top five teams in the CWCSL table, the top three teams in ICCWorld Cup 2023 League 2, and the top two teams in the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Play-off will qualify for the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule

India has been selected as the host nation for the ICC World Cup 2023, which is set to begin on October 10. A total of 48 games will be played, with the quarterfinals and finals taking place on Sunday, November 30. There will be a total of ten teams participating, and each will play nine games. Pakistan and India will both kick off their World Cup campaigns soon after the competition gets underway in India.

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super LeagueVariousJuly 2020 – March 2023Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, the West Indies, and Zimbabwe
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-OffTBC2023A x 2 Challenge Leagues A and B bottom teams
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup QualifierZimbabwe18 June – 9 July 2023Top teams from Men’s CWC Super League x5 Top teams from Men’s CWC League 2 x3 Top teams from Men’s CWC Qualifier Play-off x2
ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023IndiaOctober – 26 November 2023    India as Hosts Top teams from Men’s CWC SuperIndia hosts top teams from the Men’s CWC Super League seven times, and top teams from the Men’s CWC Qualifier two times

Cricket World Cup 2023 Broadcast

According to  ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will be broadcast on the following channels for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2023 super League mega cricket tournament.

Country NameTV Broadcast
IndiaStar Sports 1,2,3, HD, DD Sports
PakistanPTV Sports, Ten Sports
BangladeshGhazi Tv (GTV)
Sri LankaSLRC (Channel Eye)
AustraliaFox Sports, Channel 9
UKSky Sports
New ZealandSky Sports
South AfricaSuper Sports
SingaporeStar Cricket, Star Hub, and Singtel
Middle EastOSN
Hong KongStar Cricket
MalaysiaFox International Channels

Final Verdict

The cricket World Cup is the most widely viewed sporting event in the world, bringing fans from all over the globe to the host nation. Unlike other World Cups, cricket does not have a fixed venue at a specific time of year, meaning that countries bid for the right to host this tournament every so often.

For now, all that matters is that the ICC World Cup has been awarded to an ICC member country, and the hard work begins. Preparation for the event begins now, and the host nation has an important role to play in ensuring that it runs as smoothly as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!